This site is optimised for modern browsers. For the best experience, please use Google Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.


We welcome your feedback, which will help improve this site.

Feedback form

ICA PCAF Selection Committee Round 2



Pre-doctoral Clinical Academic Fellowship Scheme

Selection Committee Members

  • The remit of the Selection Committee is to support the development of the scheme, assess applications and make funding recommendations based on quality.
  • The Applicant Guidance Notes for the HEE/NIHR Pre-doctoral Clinical Academic Fellowship Scheme gives full details of the selection process.
  • The make-up of the Selection Committee is reviewed regularly and adjusted in response to need.
  • The review panel for the 2019 Pre-doctoral Clinical Academic Fellowship scheme competition will be composed from the members listed below.



Professor Jonathan Marsden (Chair)

Professorship and Chair in Rehabilitation

Plymouth University

Professor Sara Kenyon

(Deputy Chair)

Professor of Evidence Based Maternity Care

University of Birmingham

Professor Jane Coad

Professor in Children and Family Nursing

University of Coventry

Professor Helen Davis

Professor of Orthoptics

University of Sheffield

Dr Barney Dunn

Associate Professor, Mood Disorders Clinic

University of Exeter

Professor Krysia Dziedzic

Professor of Musculoskeletal Therapies

Keele University

Professor Mary Hickson

Professor in Dietetics

Plymouth University

Professor Anne-Maree Keenan

Chair of Applied Health Research

University of Leeds

Dr Jackson C Kirkman Brown

Reader in Human Reproductive Biology

University of Birmingham

Professor Candy McCabe

Clinical Professor in Nursing

University of the West of England

Professor Robert Moots

Professor of Rheumatology

University of Liverpool

Dr Lisa Roberts

Associate Professor Physiotherapy

Southampton University

Professor Lynn Rochester

Professor of Human Movement Science

Newcastle University

Professor Tom Quinn

Director for the Centre for Health and Social Care Research

Kingston University and St George's, University of London

Dr Julia Williams

Professor of Paramedic Science

University of Hertfordshire

Dr Kirsty Winkley

Reader in Diabetes and Primary Care

Kings College London

Dr Yvonne Wren

Senior Research Speech and Language Therapist

University of Bristol

Professor David Wright

Professor of Pharmacy Practice

University of East Anglia